Calcium Carbonate

What is it?


Calcium Carbonate is a common substance found in rocks. The most common natural forms are chalk, limestone, and marble. It is also a component of harder organic materials like the shells of clams or oysters and eggshells. It is used in some soy milk and almond milk products as a source of dietary calcium. Calcium Carbonate is also widely used as a dietary supplement or gastric antacid. It is a fine, white, odourless powder with a slightly chalky taste. 

The calcium carbonate in our toothpaste is quarried from limestone in the North East United States and purified to meet the requirements of the product in which it is used.

What does it do?

Calcium Carbonate is a mild abrasive, which helps to safely remove plaque with regular brushing and gently polishes away surface stains.  In Tom’s of Maine Rapid Relief Sensitive toothpaste, together with arginine, calcium carbonate helps seal open nerve channels and thus reduce the pain of tooth sensitivity.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

Once the limestone is quarried, it is then crushed, screened, separated, milled, and pulverized. Precipitated calcium carbonate undergoes an additional process in which the limestone is further purified.

What are the alternatives?

Calcium Carbonate is an ingredient we’ve been using in our toothpaste since 1975. It represents a safe and natural choice for providing mild abrasivity in our toothpastes. Some alternatives include hydrated silica gels, hydrated aluminum oxides, magnesium carbonate, phosphate salts and silicates.

Calcium Carbonate | Carbonate de calcium

De quoi s’agit-il?


Le carbonate de calcium est une substance courante qui se trouve dans les roches. Les formes naturelles les plus courantes sont la craie, le calcaire et le marbre. C’est aussi un composant de matières organiques plus dures comme les coquillages, les coquilles d'huîtres ou les coquilles d'œuf. Il est utilisé dans certains laits de soja ou laits d’amande comme source de calcium alimentaire. Le carbonate de calcium est aussi très souvent utilisé comme supplément alimentaire ou comme antiacide. C’est une fine poudre blanche, sans odeur avec un léger goût de craie. 

Le carbonate de calcium dans notre dentifrice est extrait des carrières de calcaire du nord-est des États-Unis et est purifié pour répondre aux exigences du produit dans lequel il est utilisé.

À quoi ça sert?

Le carbonate de calcium est un abrasif doux qui aide à éliminer délicatement et en toute sécurité la plaque, ainsi que les taches à la surface avec un brossage régulier. Dans le dentifrice Tom’s of Maine Soulagement rapide pour dents sensibles, le carbonate de calcium, en association avec l'arginine, aide à sceller les passages ouverts menant aux nerfs et ainsi, à réduire la douleur liée à la sensibilité dentaire.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Une fois le calcaire extrait, il est ensuite broyé, filtré, séparé, moulu et pulvérisé. Le carbonate de calcium précipité subit un processus de purification additionnelle du calcaire.

Quels sont les substituts?

Le carbonate de calcium est un ingrédient que nous utilisons dans nos dentifrices depuis 1975. C’est un choix d’abrasif doux, sain et naturel pour nos dentifrices. Parmi les substituts, on trouve les gels de silice hydratée, les oxydes d’aluminium hydraté, le carbonate de magnésium, les sels de phosphate et les silicates.