Sodium Bicarbonate

What is it?

Sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), commonly known as baking soda, is a time-honoured odour absorber and acid neutralizer. Baking soda can be found as a naturally occurring compound, but is more frequently manufactured from other naturally derived materials. Baking soda can be produced by the reaction of carbon dioxide and soda ash, a naturally occurring mineral.

What does it do?

Baking soda's odour-inhibiting and acid-neutralizing properties are well-known to grandmothers and dentists alike. Because it is a mild abrasive, baking soda is also effective in removing plaque when used in conjunction with a responsible brushing regimen.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

What are the alternatives?

For many years, the form of baking soda most widely available for consumer products was manufactured from refined minerals that were mined from the earth. While this form of baking soda is natural, it requires several processing steps to create. At the time when baking soda was developed and brought to market in a Tom’s of Maine toothpaste this was the only  commercially viable source. At Tom's, we are always searching for natural ingredients that are processed in a way that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health. Our Research and Product Development Team has found that it is now possible to obtain commercial quantities of food-grade nahcolite, a naturally occurring form of baking soda. Consequently, we formulate our baking soda toothpaste to include nahcolite, the most natural form of baking soda available.

Is this the right option for me?

Baking soda has no known toxicity or carcinogenicity. 

Tom's of Maine recognizes that no two people are alike, and even with naturally derived ingredients, some individuals may develop an allergic reaction that is unique to them. As with any product, be sure to discontinue use if you experience discomfort or other indications that the product may not be appropriate for your individual body chemistry.

Sodium Bicarbonate | Bicarbonate de soude

De quoi s’agit-il?

Depuis longtemps, le bicarbonate de soude (NaHCO3) est connu pour ses propriétés d’absorption des odeurs et de neutralisation des acides. Le bicarbonate de soude est un composé que l’on trouve à l'étal naturel, mais il est plus souvent fabriqué à partir d’autres matières d’origine naturelle. Le bicarbonate de soude peut être obtenu par la réaction entre le dioxyde de carbone et le carbonate de sodium, un minéral naturel.

À quoi ça sert?

Les propriétés anti-odeurs et anti-acides du bicarbonate de soude sont depuis longtemps connues des grands-mères autant que des dentistes. Comme c'est un abrasif doux, le bicarbonate de soude est aussi efficace pour éliminer la plaque lorsqu'il est utilisé dans le cadre d'une routine de brossage responsable.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Quels sont les substituts?

Pendant longtemps, le bicarbonate de soude le plus largement disponible au grand public était fabriqué à partir de minéraux raffinés extraits de la terre. Bien que cette forme de bicarbonate de soude soit naturelle, sa création nécessite plusieurs étapes de traitement. À l'époque où le bicarbonate de soude a été développé et commercialisé dans un dentifrice Tom’s of Maine, c’était la seule source viable sur le plan commercial. Chez Tom’s, nous recherchons toujours des ingrédients naturels dont les méthodes de transformation sont en adéquation avec notre philosophie de respect de l’environnement et de la santé humaine. Notre équipe de recherche et de développement de produits est parvenue à la conclusion qu’il est désormais possible d'obtenir des quantités commerciales de nahcolite de qualité alimentaire, une forme naturelle de bicarbonate de soude. De ce fait, notre dentifrice au bicarbonate de soude est formulé à base de nahcolite, le bicarbonate de soude le plus naturel sur le marché.

Est-ce le bon choix pour moi?

Le bicarbonate de soude est non toxique et non cancérigène.

Tom’s of Maine reconnaît que toutes les personnes sont différentes et que, même en utilisant des ingrédients naturellement dérivés, certaines pourraient développer une réaction allergique qui lui est propre. Comme avec tout produit, cessez l’utilisation en cas d’inconfort ou d’autres signes que le produit pourrait ne pas être approprié pour la chimie de votre corps.