Zinc Ricinoleate

What is it?

Zinc ricinoleate is the zinc salt of ricinoleic acid, a purified fatty acid found in castor oil from the seeds of the Ricinus communis plant. 

What does it do?

Zinc ricinoleate traps and absorbs odour molecules in such a way that they are no longer perceivable, making it a highly effective natural deodorizer.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

The Zinc Ricinoleate used in our Beautiful Earth and Coconut Lavender deodorants is derived from castor oil from the seeds of Ricinus communis.  This is combined with zinc oxide, which is from the metallic zinc to form Zinc Ricinoleate. 

What are the alternatives?

Crown ethers are odour-absorbing molecules, but it are synthetic and therefore do not meet our Stewardship Model standards for natural, responsible and sustainable. Certain clays and baking soda can absorb odour, but zinc ricinoleate absorbs odour more effectively than these alternatives in the damp underarm environment.

Tom’s of Maine recognizes that no two people are alike, and even with naturally derived ingredients, some individuals may develop an allergic reaction that is unique to them. As with any product, be sure to discontinue use if you experience discomfort or other indications that the product may not be appropriate for your individual body chemistry.

Zinc Ricinoleate | Ricinoléate de zinc

De quoi s’agit-il?

Le ricinoléate de zinc est le sel de zinc de l’acide ricinoléique, un acide gras purifié présent dans l’huile de ricin issue des graines de la plante Ricinus communis.

À quoi ça sert?

Le ricinoléate de zinc enferme et absorbe les molécules odorantes jusqu’à les faire disparaître totalement, ce qui en fait un désodorisant naturel très efficace.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Le ricinoléate de zinc utilisé dans nos déodorants Beautiful Earth et Coconut Lavender est dérivé de l’huile de ricin issue des graines du Ricinus communis. L’huile est mélangée à de l’oxyde de zinc, issu du zinc métallique, pour former le ricinoléate de zinc.

Quels sont les substituts?

Les éthers de couronne sont des molécules qui absorbent les odeurs, mais elles sont synthétiques et, par conséquent, ne respectent pas les normes liées à la notion de naturel, de responsabilité et de durabilité de notre modèle de gérance. Certaines argiles et le bicarbonate de soude peuvent aussi absorber les odeurs, mais le ricinoléate de zinc absorbe les odeurs plus efficacement que ces substituts, notamment pour l’environnement très humide des aisselles.

Tom’s of Maine reconnaît que toutes les personnes sont différentes et que, même en utilisant des ingrédients naturellement dérivés, certaines pourraient développer une réaction allergique qui lui est propre. Comme avec tout produit, cessez l’utilisation en cas d’inconfort ou d’autres signes que le produit pourrait ne pas être approprié pour la chimie de votre corps.