Aluminum Chlorohydrate

What is it?

Aluminum Chlorohydrate is a simple form of a group aluminum-based salts that can be used to reduce underarm wetness in underarm antiperspirant products.  Aluminum Chlorohydrate is also widely used in water purification to remove dissolved organic material. Aluminum is the third most abundant element in the Earth's crust behind oxygen and silicon, but, like many of earth’s resources, its supply is finite.  

What does it do?

Aluminum Chlorohydrate is one of a number of  aluminum-based ingredients used in underarm antiperspirant products. Our clinical studies show our antiperspirant stick helps reduce sweat and perspiration. Aluminum Chlorohydrate works by forming a temporary plug within the sweat duct that helps reduce the flow of sweat to the skin's surface. While the aluminum chlorohydrate reduces the amount of sweat on the skin surface, the ingredient also helps creates a skin environment, which is hostile to the growth of malodour-producing bacteria, to help reduce underarm odour.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

Aluminum Chlorohydrate is typically prepared from virgin aluminum, mined and purified from naturally occurring mineral bauxite. This process is very energy intensive, creates greenhouse gases and the mineral supply is finite.

In our antiperspirant products, we use an aluminum chlorohydrate prepared from recycled aluminum which was originally refined and purified from bauxite ore. The recycled aluminum is then combined with hydrochloric acid and water and reacted under controlled conditions to form the aluminum chlorohydrate ingredient.

While efforts have reduced the carbon footprint of primary aluminum production from the mineral bauxite, preparing pure aluminum from recycled sources takes just 8 percent of the energy needed to make primary aluminum from bauxite and was the responsible/sustainable choice to serve as a source for our aluminum chlorohydrate. Using recycled aluminum reduces energy consumption and greenhouse gas production as compared with sourcing aluminum from bauxite ore and helps to manage depletion of a global finite resource.

What are the alternatives?

There are several aluminum-based salts to reduce underarm wetness. These include a number of forms of aluminum-based salts including aluminum chloride, aluminum chlorohydrate(s), and aluminum zirconium salts. Among these options, aluminum chloride is the simplest form but its inherent acidity means that it can be damaging to many fabrics and some may find it irritating to the underarm. Aluminum Chlorohydrate is the simplest salt that is not damaging to fabric and is generally well-tolerated on the skin. There are a number of more complex aluminum chlorohydrate salts, as well as aluminum zirconium salts.

Consumers who do not wish to use an antiperspirant product may be interested to know that Tom’s of Maine also produces a line of deodorant sticks, which includes aluminum-free deodorant options. We feel it is important to offer individuals a choice and trust that they will establish a personal care regimen that is right for them.

Is this the right option for me?

We are aware that many people are concerned with the safety of aluminum-based underarm products, as a small number of studies have linked the use of such products with the occurrence of breast cancer and Alzheimer’s disease.

According to the Canadian Cancer Society there is no evidence that the use of  antiperspirants increases your risk for breast cancer1. Additionally the Canadian Alzheimer Society reports that studies have not provided strong evidence of aluminum being a risk factor for the development of dementia2. If you are concerned about the risk of breast cancer or Alzheimer’s disease, we encourage you to contact your healthcare professional to address your individual circumstances.  

Tom's of Maine recognizes that no two people are alike, and even with naturally derived ingredients, some individuals may develop an allergic reaction that is unique to them. As with any product, be sure to discontinue use if you experience discomfort or other indications that the product may not be appropriate for your individual body chemistry.

Aluminum Chlorohydrate | Chlorohydrate d'aluminium

De quoi s’agit-il?

Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium est une forme simple d'un groupe de sels d'aluminium qui peuvent être utilisés dans les produits antisudorifiques pour réduire la moiteur sous les aisselles. Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium est aussi largement utilisé pour purifier l'eau et éliminer les matières organiques dissoutes. L’aluminium est le troisième élément le plus abondant dans la croûte terrestre après l'oxygène et le silicone, mais, comme la plupart des ressources de la Terre, ses réserves sont limitées.  

À quoi ça sert?

Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium est un des nombreux ingrédients à base d’aluminium utilisés dans les produits antisudorifiques. Nos études cliniques montrent que notre antisudorifique en bâton aide à réduire la sueur et la transpiration. Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium agit en formant un bouchon temporaire sur les canaux sudorifères qui aide à réduire le débit de la transpiration sur la peau. Alors que le chlorohydrate d’aluminium réduit la quantité de transpiration sur la peau, l’ingrédient aide aussi à créer un environnement cutané hostile au développement des bactéries responsables de la mauvaise odeur, aidant ainsi à réduire les odeurs corporelles.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium est généralement préparé à partir d’aluminium vierge, extrait et purifié du minerai naturel bauxite. Ce processus consomme énormément d'énergie, produit des gaz à effet de serre et les réserves de ce minerai sont limitées.

Dans nos produits antisudorifiques, nous utilisons un chlorohydrate d’aluminium préparé à partir d’aluminium recyclé issu, à l’origine, du minerai bauxite raffiné et purifié. L’aluminium recyclé est ensuite mélangé à de l’acide chlorhydrique et à de l’eau, et soumis à une réaction chimique contrôlée afin de former le chlorohydrate d’aluminium.

Même si des efforts ont été faits pour réduire l’empreinte carbone de la production d’aluminium primaire à partir du minerai bauxite, la préparation d’aluminium pur à partir de sources recyclées ne consomme que 8 % de l’énergie nécessaire à la production d’aluminium issu de la bauxite. C’est donc le choix responsable/durable que nous avons fait pour notre chlorohydrate d’aluminium. En comparaison avec l’aluminium issu du minerai bauxite, l’utilisation de l’aluminium recyclé limite la consommation d’énergie et la production de gaz à effet de serre, et aide à mieux gérer l’appauvrissement des ressources mondiales épuisables.

Quels sont les substituts?

Il existe plusieurs sels d’aluminium pour réduire la moiteur sous les aisselles. Parmi ces sels d’aluminium, on trouve le chlorure d’aluminium, le(s) chlorohydrate(s) d’aluminium et les sels d’aluminium zirconium. Parmi ces options, le chlorure d'aluminium est la forme la plus simple, mais son acidité naturelle peut endommager les tissus et parfois être irritante pour les aisselles. Le chlorohydrate d’aluminium est le sel le plus simple qui n’abîme pas les tissus et est généralement bien toléré par la peau. Il existe plusieurs autres sels de chlorohydrate d’aluminium plus complexes, ainsi que des sels d’aluminium zirconium.

Les consommateurs qui ne désirent pas utiliser de produit antisudorifique seront heureux d’apprendre que Tom’s of Maine produit aussi une gamme de déodorants en bâton qui inclut des options sans aluminium. Nous croyons qu’il est important d’offrir le choix aux consommateurs et nous savons qu’ils opteront toujours pour un régime de soins personnels qui leur convient.

Est-ce le bon choix pour moi?

Nous sommes conscients que beaucoup de personnes s’interrogent sur la sécurité des produits à base d’aluminium pour les aisselles, car quelques études ont fait le lien entre l’utilisation de ces produits et l’apparition du cancer du sein et de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Selon la Société canadienne du cancer, il n’existe aucune preuve que l’utilisation des antisudorifiques augmenterait votre risque de contracter un cancer du sein1. En outre, la Société Alzheimer du Canada indique que les études menées n’ont pas fourni de preuves tangibles que l’aluminium serait un facteur de risque pour le développement de la démence2. Si le risque de cancer du sein ou de la maladie d’Alzheimer vous inquiète, nous vous encourageons à en parler avec votre médecin afin de définir vos prédispositions individuelles.

Tom’s of Maine reconnaît que toutes les personnes sont différentes et que, même en utilisant des ingrédients naturellement dérivés, certaines pourraient développer une réaction allergique qui lui est propre. Comme avec tout produit, cessez l’utilisation en cas d’inconfort ou d’autres signes que le produit pourrait ne pas être approprié pour la chimie de votre corps.