Glycyrrhiza Uralensis (Licorice) Root Extract

What is it?

The documented medicinal use of licorice goes back to the beginnings of recorded history. The earliest evidence comes from samples of licorice found in the tombs of Egyptian pharaohs, including those found in the tomb of King Tut (1343-1325 B.C.). Reference to licorice has also been made on Assyrian tablets dating back to the second or third millennia B.C. and Chinese and eastern cultures have been using licorice extensively in traditional medicine for hundreds of years.

What does it do?

It is reported that  licorice extract has antimicrobial, antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and breath-freshening properties. The breath freshening properties are due to a reduction in certain chemical end products of bacterial metabolism known as volatile sulfur compounds (VSCs). VSCs are foul smelling and are known to be responsible for the offensive odour recognized as bad breath. Our research showed that the addition of licorice root extract lowered the percentage VSC in lab tests and this efficacy was confirmed in human subjects.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

What are the alternatives?

There are other breath freshening agents, such as cetylpyridinium chloride, but these compounds do not meet the natural standards in our Stewardship Model. However, we do also use zinc compounds in some oral care products as another naturally derived alternative for breath freshening.  Tom's of Maine offers our consumers choices to enjoy the benefits of nature.

Tom's of Maine recognizes that no two people are alike, and even with naturally derived ingredients, some individuals may develop an allergic reaction that is unique to them. As with any product, be sure to discontinue use if you experience discomfort or other indications that the product may not be appropriate for your individual body chemistry.

Glycyrrhiza Uralensis (Licorice) Root Extract | Extrait de racine de Glycyrrhiza uralensis (réglisse)

De quoi s’agit-il?

L’usage médicinal de la réglisse remonte au début de l'histoire. Les premières preuves de son utilisation proviennent d’échantillons de réglisse découverts dans les tombeaux de pharaons égyptiens, notamment dans celui du Roi Tut (1343-1325 avant J.-C.). Des tablettes assyriennes datant du second ou troisième millénaire avant J.-C. font aussi référence à la réglisse et, depuis des siècles, les cultures chinoises et orientales utilisent largement la réglisse dans la médecine traditionnelle.

À quoi ça sert?

L’extrait de réglisse aurait des propriétés antimicrobiennes, antioxydantes, anti-inflammatoires et également une capacité à rafraîchir l’haleine. La réglisse rafraîchit l’haleine en réduisant la production de certaines substances chimiques du métabolisme bactérien, appelées composés sulfurés volatiles (CSV). Les CSV ont une mauvaise odeur et sont connus pour être responsables de la mauvaise haleine. Notre étude a montré que l’ajout d'extrait de racine de réglisse réduit le pourcentage de CSV dans les tests en laboratoire et son efficacité a été confirmée sur l'humain.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Quels sont les substituts?

Il existe d’autres agents permettant de rafraîchir l’haleine, comme le chlorure de cétylpyridinium, mais ces composés ne respectent pas les normes liées à la notion de naturel de notre modèle de gérance. Toutefois, nous utilisons aussi des composés de zinc dans certains produits de soins buccodentaires comme autre substitut naturel pour rafraîchir l'haleine.  Tom's of Maine offre à ses consommateurs plusieurs choix pour profiter des bienfaits de la nature.

Tom’s of Maine reconnaît que toutes les personnes sont différentes et que, même en utilisant des ingrédients naturellement dérivés, certaines pourraient développer une réaction allergique qui lui est propre. Comme avec tout produit, cessez l’utilisation en cas d’inconfort ou d’autres signes que le produit pourrait ne pas être approprié pour la chimie de votre corps.