Zinc Citrate, Zinc Citrate Trihydrate

What is it?

Zinc citrate is a zinc salt derived from citric acid.

What does it do?

Zinc citrate is a multifunctional ingredient. In Tom’s of Maine products, it was determined that zinc citrate’s role is to freshen breath by reducing the impact of odourous compounds produced by bacteria in the mouth.  Some bacteria in our mouth produce volatile sulfur compounds (VSCs), which can leave us with ‘bad breath’. Zinc is able to react with these VSCs to reduce the odorous components to provide breath freshening.

How is it made?

Our Stewardship Model guides us to select ingredients which have been processed in a manner that supports our philosophy of human and environmental health.

To make zinc citrate, zinc oxide is combined with citric acid. Zinc citrate is precipitated from the neutralization mixture. The crystalline zinc citrate that precipitates is then dehydrated and milled.

What are the alternatives?

In oral care products, alternatives to zinc citrate in the fight against bad breath are artificial antimicrobial agents or other natural agents like terpenes (found in spearmint oil) and tea tree oil that inhibit the odour-causing compounds. Research from Tom’s of Maine has also confirmed the botanical, licorice root, is effective at reducing VSC’s in lab tests and this efficacy was confirmed in human subjects. Tom’s of Maine uses licorice root in its Wicked Fresh! Anticavity  toothpaste to deliver clinically proven, long lasting fresh breath. Other blends of natural essential oils are also effective in neutralizing and masking odour.

Is this the right option for me?

Zinc is ubiquitous in the environment, being found in water, air and all living organisms. Zinc is an essential element that functions as an integral part of numerous enzymes. It is involved in many cellular processes.  It helps to support normal growth and development, and is important for proper sense of smell and taste.

Tom’s of Maine recognizes that no two people are alike, and even with naturally derived ingredients, some individuals may develop an allergic reaction that is unique to them. As with any product, be sure to discontinue use if you experience discomfort or other indications that the product may not be appropriate for your individual body chemistry.

Zinc Citrate, Zinc Citrate Trihydrate | Citrate de zinc, citrate de zinc trihydrate

De quoi s’agit-il?

Le citrate de zinc est un sel de zinc dérivé de l’acide citrique.

À quoi ça sert?

Le citrate de zinc est un ingrédient multifonctionnel. Dans les produits Tom’s of Maine, le rôle du citrate de zinc consiste à rafraîchir l’haleine en réduisant l’impact des composés odorants produits par les bactéries de la bouche. Certaines bactéries dans notre bouche produisent des composés sulfurés volatils (CSV), qui causent la mauvaise haleine. Le zinc est capable de réagir au contact des CSV pour réduire les composants odorants et ainsi, rafraîchir l’haleine.

Comment c’est fait?

Notre modèle de gérance nous guide dans le choix de nos ingrédients qui ont été transformés en respectant notre philosophie en matière de santé humaine et environnementale.

Pour faire du citrate de zinc, il faut mélanger de l’oxyde de zinc à de l’acide citrique. Le citrate de zinc est précipité à partir du mélange de neutralisation. Le citrate de zinc cristallin précipité est ensuite déshydraté et moulu.

Quels sont les substituts?

Dans les produits de soins buccodentaires, les substituts au citrate de zinc qui agissent contre la mauvaise haleine sont des agents antimicrobiens artificiels ou d’autres agents naturels comme les terpènes (contenus dans l’huile de menthe verte) et l’huile d’arbre à thé qui inhibent les composés responsables des odeurs. Des études menées par Tom’s of Maine ont aussi confirmé l’efficacité de la racine de réglisse pour la réduction des CSV, aussi bien en laboratoire que lors des tests sur l’humain. Tom’s of Maine utilise la racine de réglisse dans son dentifrice anticarie Wicked Fresh! pour procurer une haleine fraîche et durable éprouvée en clinique. D’autres mélanges d’huiles essentielles naturelles sont aussi efficaces pour neutraliser et masquer les odeurs.

Est-ce le bon choix pour moi? 

Le zinc est omniprésent dans l’environnement : dans l’eau, dans l’air et dans tous les organismes vivants. Le zinc est un élément essentiel qui fonctionne comme partie intégrante de nombreuses enzymes. Il est impliqué dans plusieurs processus cellulaires. Il aide à soutenir la croissance normale et le développement et est essentiel pour avoir un bon sens de l’odorat et du goût.

Tom’s of Maine reconnaît que toutes les personnes sont différentes et que, même en utilisant des ingrédients naturellement dérivés, certaines pourraient développer une réaction allergique qui lui est propre. Comme avec tout produit, cessez l’utilisation en cas d’inconfort ou d’autres signes que le produit pourrait ne pas être approprié pour la chimie de votre corps.